Reading To Our Kids

What my wife & I are reading to our four kids

Finished Wintersmith by Terry Pratchett

on February 1, 2012
Wintersmith (Discworld, #35)
Links to this book

Reading to: Alanah (9) & Sabrina (3).

We finished Wintersmith last night. We would have finished the night before, but about fifteen pages before the end, I noticed a distinct lack of questions at the obscure bits and giggles at the the Nac Mac Feegle bits coming from the bed above me (Alanah sleeps in a loft bed we’ve built above Sabrina’s bed).

So last night I went back about ten pages, and then finished the book. I think it’s safe to say that Alanah’s favourite part of the last part is when Rob Anybody confronts his ‘heroic’ task of reading a book:

“Where’s mah coo?” he read. “Is that mah coo? It gaes cluck! It is
a…a…chicken! It is no’ mah coo! An’ then there’s this wee paintin’ o’ a
couple o’ chickens. That’s another page, right?”

“It is indeed, Rob,” said Billy Bigchin.

There was a cheer from the assembled Feegles as Rob ran around the book, waving his hands in the air

It took a second reading for her to recognise it, but then a huge grin appeared on her face as she realised where it was from. It’s from the book Where’s My Cow, the children’s book Pratchett created for Samuel Vimes to read to his son in Thud.  My kids got me Where’s My Cow for me for father’s day a few years ago, they were thrilled to be able to buy me a book that actually looked interesting for a change, instead of those boring books with only words in that Mummy buys for me!

Sarah now assures me she’s spent the rest of the day yelling “Where’s ma coo!!!”

Sarah & I managed to coordinate the ending of our books, so while I’m moving on to I Shall Wear Midnight, the next book in the Tiffany series, she’ll be starting reading Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles: The Nixie’s Song that they got from the library.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

